The First Annual Independent Star Trek Fan Film Awards
Forty-five years ago, when the original Star Trek television series ended its primetime run and went into syndication around the world, it found a new audience numbering in the millions.  Many of those fans eagerly wrote stories, painted artwork, created costumes and played "make-believe" with their friends as a way of celebrating—and claiming a small piece for themselves—the extraordinary universe created by Gene Roddenberry.

Thirty years later, the next generation of fans had the drive, ambition, skills and tools they needed to take their make-believe adventures off the printed page and out of the back yard and create their own live-action videos that they could share with other like-minded fans around the world on the Internet.  These independent Star Trek fan films have grown from low-budget, low-tech videos to spectacular productions on par with Hollywood's best.  They have emerged as an industry unto itself... an industry that is allowed to exist and thrive solely at the pleasure of the intellectual property owners, but prohibited from earning one red cent from its efforts.  Independent Star Trek fan film productions are the very epitome of a labor of love.

Over the last fifteen years, these films have increased in both quality and quantity, and the time has come to recognize their achievements in excellence by introducing an award devoted exclusively to them.  Accordingly, Treklanta is pleased to announce the first annual Independent Star Trek Fan Film Awards Ceremony, to be held on Sunday, April 26, 2015, at the Treklanta convention in Atlanta, Georgia.

Awards will be presented in nine categories, including Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form; Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form; Best Director; Best Actor/Actress; Best Supporting Actor/Actress; Best Original Screenplay; Best Soundtrack; Best Visual Effects; and Best Production Design.  Long Form includes fan films with a running time of 31 minutes or longer; Short Form fan films run 30 minutes or less.

Nominations will be accepted during the month of January 2015.  Nominees will be reviewed by our panel of judges during February 2015.  Balloting and tabulation of ballots will be held in March 2015.  Awards will be presented in April 2015.

To be eligible for nomination, an independent Star Trek fan film must:
1) Be a live-action dramatic presentation set in the Star Trek universe, not animated or CGI, or a satire or parody of Star Trek
2) Have "Based upon Star Trek, Created by Gene Roddenberry" (or similar) in the title sequence or opening credits
3) Have been released to the Internet (YouTube, Vimeo, etc.) during calendar year 2014, and
4) Have an entry on with full cast and crew credits listed

To be nominated, a key individual associated with the fan film (creator, producer, director, etc.) must:

1) Send an email to on or before January 31, 2015, with the web site address of the fan film being submitted for consideration, and
2) Send a standard-format, non-returnable DVD of the fan film (i.e., one that is playable in a traditional DVD player; not one formatted to play only in a computer disk drive with a video player software program) to Treklanta, PO Box 620605, Atlanta GA  30362, to arrive no later than January 31, 2015

The Independent Star Trek Fan Film Awards Panel of Judges
Nominees will be judged by a panel of industry professionals and experts who have worked in the Star Trek franchise.  Judges include Diana Botsford, Peter David, Keith R. A. DeCandido, Michael DeMeritt and Susan Sackett.  Ballots will be collected and tabulated by Treklanta management.  Winners will be announced at the Treklanta convention in Atlanta, Georgia, on April 26, 2015.


We hope that the Independent Star Trek Fan Film Awards will come to be recognized as a prestigious recognition of excellence and achievement on the same par as the Hugo Awards are for works of science fiction and fantasy, the Nebula Awards are for American works of science fiction and fantasy, and the Saturn Awards are for science fiction, fantasy and horror in film, television and home video.  Please plan to attend the inaugural awards ceremony at Treklanta in April 2015.

Announcement of Films Selected for Consideration
Treklanta is pleased to announce the independent Star Trek fan films that have been nominated, submitted and/or selected for consideration for the first annual Independent Star Trek Fan Film Awards, and which meet the eligibility requirements as previously announced on our web site and Facebook page.  In chronological order of release date, the sixteen fan films that will be reviewed and judged by our distinguished panel of judges are:
Release Date & IMDb Link
      Series Name & Web Site Link Episode Title & Online Video Link
Run Time
    Star Trek Continues "Lolani"
    Project: Potemkin "The Night the Stars Fell from the Sky"
    Star Trek: Rendezvous "The Inquiry"
    Star Trek: Secret Voyage "Rise of the Gongdea"
    Starship Exeter "The Tressaurian Intersection"
    Star Trek: Reliant "Supply and Demand"
    Star Trek Continues "Fairest of Them All"
    Star Trek Natures Hunger "Star Trek Encounters Silence of the Lambs"
    Starship Valiant "Legacy"
    Project: Potemkin "Command Decision"
    Star Trek: Axanar "Prelude to Axanar"
    Starship Farragut "Conspiracy of Innocence"
    Star Trek: Reliant "Stalemate"
    Star Trek Natures Hunger

"Dorothy's Awesome Shuttlecraft Adventure"

    Project: Potemkin "Holding Pattern"
    Star Trek New Voyages: Phase II "Mind-Sifter"
The finalists in each of the competition's nine categories will be announced in March and the winners will be announced at Treklanta on Sunday, April 26.  The first annual Independent Star Trek Fan Film Awards will be hosted by Treklanta Chairman Eric L. Watts and the winners will be announced by the convention's Guests of Honor, including Sean Kenney, Jason Carter and Keith R. A. DeCandido.  Please plan to attend this historic event as we recognize achievements in excellence among the independent Star Trek fan film community.